FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 Starts In France

By |

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 is the 8th edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, the quadrennial international football championship contested by the women’s national teams between 7 June and 7 July 2019.

Key Facts:

  • The Championship will be held in nine cities across France. In March 2015, France won the right to host the event, the first time the country will host the tournament, and the third time a European nation will.
  • The competition has been held every four years since 1991, when the inaugural tournament, then called the FIFA Women’s World Championship, was held in China.
  • Advertisement
  • The seven FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments have been won by four national teams.
  • The United States have won three times including the last one in 2015.
  • The other winners are Germany, with two titles; Japan and Norway with one title each.
  • Five countries have hosted the Women’s World Cup. China and United States have hosted twice, while Canada, Germany and Sweden have each hosted once. France are the hosts for the 2019 edition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *