Physical features of india

By |

physical features of India
physiographic division of India
1. the Himalayan range of mountains
2. the peninsular plateau
3. the great plain of India
4. The coastal plains
5. the islands of India
the Himalayan range of mountains
Himalayas means abode of snow and they are young fold mountains of tertiary period, which are folded over tethys sea due to inner Continental collision
they are one of the youngest fold mountain ranges in the world and comprises mainly sedimentary rocks
the strech from the Indus river in the west to the Brahmaputra river in the East
the pamir, popularly known as the roof of the world in the connecting link between the Himalayas and the highest of Central Asia
the total length is about 2500 km with bearing width of 240 to 320 km
they consist of three parallel ranges such as
Himadri or greater Himalaya
Himachal or lesser Himalaya
Shivalik or outer Himalaya
Himadri or greater Himalaya or inner Himalaya
northernmost part of the Himalayan range, it is the world’s highest path with an average altitude of 6100 m above sea level.
it includes world’s highest peak Mount Everest( 8850 m) located in Nepal. it is known as Sagarmatha in Nepal and chomolungma in China

Zaskar range is situated on the western part of greater Himalayas. it includes nanga Parvat Kashmir Himachal region and Nepal dhaulagiri
Other important peaks are Kanchenjunga( 8598 m, Sikkim) makalu, manasalu , nanga Parvat, kamet and Nanda Devi
important passes in inner Himalayas
Jammu and Kashmir: Karakoram Pass, Burzil pass, zojila pass
Himachal Pradesh: shipki La Pass
Sikkim: jelep La Pass
arunachal pradesh: yangyap pass
middle Himalaya or lesser Himalaya or Himachal
from west to east middle Himalayas divided into following range in Jammu and Kashmir Pir Panjal range, it is longest of the middle Himalaya; in Himachal Pradesh dhauladhar range, in Uttarakhand Mussoorie range, in Nepal Nag Tibba range and Mahabharat range
average height of the middle Himalayas 3700- 4500 km.


mountains and valleys are disposed in all direction
important Hills resorts are Shimla, Ranikhet, Almora, Nainital and Darjeeling
important passes in middle Himalayas are in Jammu and Kashmir Pir Panjal pass, Banihal pass and in Himachal Pradesh Rohtang Pass
outer Himalayas or Shivalik
siwaliks are characterized by fault scraps anti clinical crest and find synclinical Hills
average elevation is 900- 1200 m.
it is the youngest part of the mountain
it forms the foothills of Himalayas
trans Himalayan zones
this zone lies to the north of the great Himalayas
some important range of this zone are Karakoram and Ladakh etc. the highest peak in the region is K2 or Godwin Austen or Qagir located in Pak occupied Kashmir or Pok( 8611 m). Mount K2 is also the second highest peak of the world and the highest peak of India, located in Karakoram range
mount rakaposhi is the highest peak in Ladakh Range and the steepest peak in the world

Siachen Glacier is the largest glacier of the world outside the polar region( more than 72 km) and is located in nubra Valley. Ladakh,baltro,biafo, batura, hispar are the other important glacier in this region
the great plain
to the south of Himalaya and to the north of Peninsular lies in the great plain of North India
it extends from west to east for 2400 km having an average width in between 152-300 Km.
the plains are formed by depositional works of three major River systems Indus Ganga and Brahmaputra
the vast


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *