International Awards

By |

International Awards

International Awards


Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prizes are given under the will of Alfred bernhard Nobel who died in 1896. he discovered nitroglycerin and it’s used in the manufacture of Dynamite.

The Nobel Prize are given each year in 6 fields. the Nobel prize for Peace,physics,chemistry,medicine and literature were started in 1901. the Nobel Prize for economics was started in 1968.

The awards can be given to maximum 3 person in the same field at the same time. the Nobel Prize was not awarded between 1940 and 1942 due to the outbreak of World War 2.

Important facts related with Nobel Prize

Unique winner

Pierre curie-father,Marie curie-mother,Irene loliot curie-daughter.

Person refusing Nobel Prize

JP startre( literature)- 1964, LD Tho( peace)- 1973

Posthumous winner

EA karlfeldt( literature)- 1931,Dag Hammarskjold( peace)- 1961

American President

Roosevelt( peace)-1906, woodrow Wilson( peace)- 1919, Jimmy Carter( peace)-2002, Barack Obama( peace)-2009

Winner of Nobel Prize more than once

John Bareteen- 1956( transistor), 1972( superconductivity), both in Physics

Marie Curie-1903( physics), 1911( chemistry)

Linus pauling- 1954( chemistry), 1962( peace)

Frederick sanger- 1958, 1980( chemistry)

International committee of Red Cross- 1917, 1944, 1963( peace)

United Nations high Commissioner for refugees- 1954, 1981( peace)

Indian Nobel laureates

Rabindranath Tagore- literature( Gitanjali) 1913

Chandrasekhar venkataraman- physics( Raman effect) 1930

Har Gobind Khorana( Indian descent)- medicine( genetic code) 1968

Mother Teresa- peace, 1979

subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar( Indian descent)- physics( Chandrasekhar limit) 1983

Amartya Sen- economics( welfare economics) 1998

Sir VS Naipaul( Indian descent)- literature,2001

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan( Indian descent)- chemistry( ribosomes) 2009


Kailash satyarthi- peace( struggle against child labour) 2014

Nobel Prize winners 2017

Physics-Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish, and Kip Thorne(LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves)

Chemistry-Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank, and Richard Henderson(cryo-electron microscopy)

Medicine-Jeffrey Hall, Michael Rosbash, and Michael Young(molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm)

Economics-Richard Thaler(behavioral economics)

Literature-Kazuo Ishiguro

Peace-International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)(humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons)

Oscar Awards or Academy Awards

The Oscar statuette is officially named” The Academy Awards of merit”

The Indian films nominated for Oscars are 1. Mother India( 1957),2. Salaam Bombay( 1988),3. Lagaan( 2001)

The Oscar award is given every year in the month of February to March at Hollywood Kodak theatre. Bhanu athaiya was the first Indian to win an Oscar award in 1980 for costume design in film Gandhi.

Oscar winners 2018

best picture- the shape of water crew

best director- guillermo Del Toro

best actor- Gary Oldman

best actress- Frances McDormand

Man Booker prize-Lincoln

Ramon Magsaysay Award– TM Krishna

World food prize– adesina

Miss Universe-Demi-Leigh Nel-Peters

Miss World- Manushi chhillar

Miss Earth-Karen Ibasco



One thought on “International Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *